secUnity-Workshop “Dialogue on IT security research”

On October 2nd 2018, the international secUnity-workshop "Dialogue on IT Security Research: Challenges and Course of Action" took place at “Maschinenhaus” of the TU Darmstadt. The secUnity-principal investigators met with German and other European industry and university representatives for the purpose of launching a joint roadmap to European IT security research.

Dr. Igor Nai-Fovino from the Joint Research Centre of the European Commission started with a presentation on the “European Cybersecurity Competence Survey”, in which a comparison with China and the USA in particular revealed potential for Europe. In several discussion rounds, selected topics of IT security research were subsequently further deepened. The participants discussed in detail technical problems and difficulties in practical implementation for topics such as "Secure systems despite untrustworthy components" or "IT security and data protection for machine learning", but also the question of “Quantifying security in law and economics”. They derived necessary measures for both industry and research. The objective should be to strengthen the digital sovereignty of individuals and of the European Union.

The results of the discussions will be incorporated in the final secUnity-roadmap for European cybersecurity research and will be published within the next months.

Participants of the secUnity workshop “Dialogue on IT Security Research: Challenges and Course of Action” in October 2018 in Darmstadt:

  • Sébastien Bardin, CEA, France
  • Hervé Debar, Telecom-sudparis, EUNITY, France
  • Dr. Jochen Dinger, Fiducia & GAD IT AG, Germany
  • Claudia Eckert, Fraunhofer AISEC, Germany
  • Sascha Fahl, RUB, Germany
  • Gloria Gonzalez Fuster, VUB, Belgium
  • Willi Geiselmann, KIT, Germany
  • Anna-Louise Grensing, KIT, Germany
  • Stjepan Groš, Univ. of Zagreb, Croatia
  • Joseph Hallett, Univ. of Bristol, Cybok, Great Britain
  • Margareta Heidt, TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Thorsten Holz, RUB, Germany
  • Detlef Houdeau, Infineon AG, Germany
  • Claude Kirchner, INRIA, France
  • Wolfgang Klasen, Siemens AG, Germany
  • Evangelos Markatos, University of Crete, FORTH, Greece
  • Ninja Marnau, CISPA, Germany
  • Peter Möhring, Security Network Munich, Germany
  • Jörn Müller-Quade, KIT, KASTEL, Germany
  • Igor Nai-Fovino, Joint Research Centre of the European Commission
  • Kathrin Noack, KIT, Germany
  • Oliver Raabe, KIT-ZAR, KASTEL, German
  • Roland Rieke, Fraunhofer SIT, CRISP, Germany
  • Anne Steinbrück, KIT, Germany
  • Michael Waidner, Fraunhofer SIT, CRISP, Germany
  • Andreas Wespi, IBM Research Zürich, Switzerland